Air Optix Aqua Multifocal

What do you think about Air Optix Aqua Multifocal? What's your experience? What's good - what's bad? Read what others have to say and tell us what you like or dislike about Air Optix Aqua Multifocal!

4.5/5 from 48 ratings.
  • Vision
  • Comfort
  • Handling
  • Value
Wondering
2018/10/24
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I am a first timer. but after tring Air Optix Multifocal for a few weeks it looks like contact lenses are not meant for everyone... Or I must try another brand?..thanks for the tips!
Show more
Can't wear them anymore
2018/09/23
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I had worn these lenses for quite a while. However, I cannot wear them anymore as they are blurry and irratating....I feel like they're rubbing my eyelid. Wondering if Alcon changed something or if it's just my eyes. Taking a break and trying again in a few weeks...they were so comfortable in the beginning.
Show more
AIR OPTIX MF
2018/08/21
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I've had my trial lenses for about 2 weeks. So far, these are the most comfortable lenses! I can read the computer fine with no problems. I can read books/handouts. I do have problems with glossy papered books and find that some low powered readers help. My distance is a little blurry. Not sure if anything can be done to sharpen my distance. Other than the distance problems, it's a lot better than constantly trying to find readers to be able to read!!
Show more
Comfortable and good vision
2018/07/18
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I like these lenses for the comfort and the fact that they are multifocal. However, I find that they don't last the full month even though I clean and soak them daily. Towards the end of the month, they seem cloudy soon after I insert them. I used oasys last year and found them more or less equivalent and liked the fact that the prescription calls for changing them every two weeks. I paid about the same for each lens under both prescriptions, so it seems like the oasys lens is a better deal for me.
Show more
Issue with solution?
2018/04/16
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I have been wearing these lenses for about a year and a half with no problems at first. Then in the fall of 2017 I started to notice fluid accumulating towards the late afternoon. Thinking that it was an allergy I tried to ignore it, but when it happened every day and the discharge in my eyes became more frequent I consulted an optometrist. I was told to use a different cleansing solution for the lenses, as well as an anti-inflammatent medication which was very costly. My doctor gave me some samples to use and within two weeks the problem seemed to be solved. However recently, now 6 months later, with a brand new product, just ordered, I am experiencing similar problems as others. Feeling like sandpaper in the eyes on the first day of brand new lenses making it necessary to remove them sooner than I would like. After four days the problem seems to be still there although not as bad. I am using sterile saline drops to re-wet the lenses which helps for a short while. I, too, am wondering if this is an allergy to the solution that the product sits in the package. Thank you to others for posting your experience because it helps to know that my symptoms are not unusual. Next week I will again consult with my optometrist.
Show more
Comfortable but not perfect
2018/01/19
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I find these quite comfortable to wear. However, my optician said that he found multimodal lenses ineffective and when I insisted on getting them I had to choose between good distance vision and poor closeup OR the reverse. I have tried these for a month and can see great for distance and midrange but still must use readers for close up. The doctor said there was no real perfect multi focal and I would have to still wear glasses part of the time with them. Has anyone else experienced such a compromise? I want to have the option of a contact that can truly give both distance and closeup. If my doctor is correct and there is no true multifocal that works well I feel that the Air Optics Multi focal advertisement is a lie.
Show more
Problems lately
2017/10/02
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I started experiencing a problem with these contacts in Sept 2016. After having them in for only a few hours, my eyes felt like they had sandpaper in them. I tried multiple times over the next year with the same result. I was prescribed them again in Sept 2017 and tried again. But, I got the same result. I went back to my doctor and has stated that he has not had any other patients experience this. He does not recommend any other multifocal lenses. I have reported this problem to the company and the FDA. I suggest you do this too. It is not normal to have this problem or any of the ones reported in the comments below. I have been wearing contacts for almost 20 years and had not experienced any problems until this.
Show more
Discomfort goes away
2016/11/29
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I love the fact that I can see small print so much better now, but I have had a strange experience the first few days when I put in a new pair, the left eye is very dry and uncomfortable. This gradually goes away over a few days, and then they are great for the next 30 days. But this discomfort each time I put in a new pair is really annoying. Has anyone else experienced this? It's kind of like they have to become conditioned to my eye chemistry or something...
Show more
Bad pair??
2016/01/09
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
The first test lens were great for me, a first time contact user. But when I purchased my first box, I had a really painful experience. Felt like my eyes were burned. I took them out but my eyes didn't "heal" for 24 hours. Dr. told me they might just be a bad batch and also suggested Systalane drops when the contacts make my eyes feel dry.
Show more
Air optix MF
2015/07/03
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
The best contacts I have even worn. Wearing contacts for 30 years. Last 5 years using Accuvue bifocal, but Air Optix are much better for reading and also for the comfort. Glad my doctor recommended them.
Show more
air optix aqua multifocal
2014/07/10
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
saved my working life. do not need reading glasses and can see the smallest of items in my business. comfortable and wonderful. 5 stars
Show more
Air Optix
2013/05/29
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Not impressed! Had two trial pair and had fractures occur in one contact after about a weeks use with both pair! By the time my work day is over I would have to take them out. No comfort!
Show more
Best Yet
2013/01/30
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I recently went through 7 weeks trying different brands of multifocal lenses. These are best of the not so perfect world of multifocal contacts. Very comfortable and the accuracy is not perfect between near/far vision, but these are the only lens I can wear using my dual screen pc all day and out away from my desk. Only issue I have is the dirt/protein build up during the day. But if I just take them out midday and clean them in my palm, I am good for the rest of the day.
Show more
First time - so comfortable!
2012/03/30
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I have never worn contact lenses before, so I have nothing to compare them to. The Air Optix Multifocal lenses were comfortable from the moment I put them in! I find them much more effective than my multifocal glasses. It has been several weeks and I cannot get used to the glasses - I get nauseous nearly every time I wear them. I have no such problems with the lenses. My favorite lens cleaning solution is Opti-Free Pure Moist . . . This solution in combination with these lenses give me a comfortable experience all day long. On days when I fly, or am in drier climates or high altitudes like Denver, all I need is a few drops of a contact lens wetting solution like Thera Tears and I am good to go!
Show more
Great lens
2012/02/24
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I can wear all day with no issues! Sharp vision.
Show more
review
2011/10/06
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I LOVE THEM!! my first time I've been able to get them in my eyes and keep them in. I was surprised to learn that I could wear them to sleep in, so I figured why not try it. I was completely amazed that the next morning they were in place and my eyes felt great, no issues at all! Wish they came in colors....maybe they should work on that one! :-) big thumbs up!!
Show more
1st Impression on the Air Optix.
2011/07/27
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
At 51, this is my first try at contacts. Started with the Bausch + Lomb Softlens Multi-Focal and was having some issues so the Doc put me in the Air Optix Aqua. The fit is good so far and reasonably comfortable. I have your average 40+ presbyopia with +2.5 add in progressive glasses and a mild astigmatism. Working through day one and find things aren't very clear and the close work is not so good. I'm told not to expect clarity less than 22-inches which is pretty bad in my opinion when you need to read a medicine bottle in a pinch. Will see how it goes, but 1st impression with this brand has a rich clarity in optics and comfortable. Was easy to put in and not too bad so far. Will have to see how things progress and pricing.
Show more
Air optix - phenomenal!
2011/03/22
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I spent 3 months trying different multifocal lenses and found the air optix were far superior in both near and far vision for me compared to pro clear and acuvue oasys multifocals. I see 20/25 in the distance and very well close up - I only use reading glasses when drafting and need to see points exactly. Comfort is good though not as good as the oasys, but better than pro clear. Make sure your doctor understands the proper fitting guidelines for successful vision (not all do)
Show more
multi-focal lenses
2011/03/15
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I love my contacts as far as being able to see at all distances without any problem and love that I no longer need glasses. However I do find that they dry out rather fast and I also feel that I definately do not get a full 4 weeks use out of them. Any suggestions?
Show more
Air Optix Multifocal are the best!
2011/02/27
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I have been wearing my Air Optix Multifocal lenses for a bit over a month now and I absolutely love them! I put them in at around 5:00 a.m. each morning and wear them until at least 7:00 p.m. At the end of the day they still feel comfortable and I have no blurring. In the mid 90's I had AccuVue and my vision would blur so badly by the end of the day that I could barely see to drive home. These are such an improvement! I have worn them overnight once and was amazed at how my eyes felt the next morning. I did put some rewetting drops in but they did not feel at all gritty like I was expecting. I had no trouble adjusting to the multifocal lenses from day 1. I easily switch from near to far with no blurring or any other issues. My close up reading ability is wonderful too. I can read even the smallest print without using readers. I am so glad my eye doctor choose these for me and I feel like I will be an air optix customer for life.
Show more
WOW!
2011/01/18
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I have worn mono vision contacts for about 5 years now. In the afternoon when I got tired I would feel like I was blind in one eye. I'm into my second week of Air Optix Aqua Multifocals and I love them. They are comfortable and I can see much better in distance and close up. Now I do not feel like I am blind in one eye!
Show more
Love Them!
2010/10/25
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I had low expectations based on what I'd heard about multifocal contacts in general. I am amazed at how wonderful these contacts lenses are. I have a medium add and -5.00 in both eyes. Distance, close, and in between are all amazingly clear. My optomotrist was pushing me to monovision and had not really tried many multifocals before. I insisted on wanting to try the multifocals and he said these were the latest ones and were supposed to be pretty good. First trial pair was all we needed! SO thrilled I no longer need to carry reading glasses with me :-)
Show more
Not convinced yet
2010/09/27
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I have been in Proclear multifocals for many years with good but not great results. My doctor switched me to Optix last Thursday. They seem much sharper at certain distances and for using the computer. I have noticed that my eyes seem to be dryer at the end of the day then they were with the Proclear lenses. The jury is still out for me.
Show more
Air Optix Multifocals solution
2010/09/12
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I realize that I need to use Clear Care by Ciba Vision for cleaning and disinfecting these lenses. What type of saline solution do you use to temporarily store the lenses without disinfecting them?
Show more
Problems with consistency
2010/08/24
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I also have had problems with consistency. I had two of twelve lens be "off" in the prescription & I couldn't see out of it. When I tried another lens, it was great.
Show more
Tinted contacts
2010/08/05
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Wish they made them in colors. Otherwise they are great!
Show more
Fantastic product
2010/07/14
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I'm a musician and can even read the music; I'm 60 years old, so that's something! So great to not have to fool with glasses on and off.
Show more
I got them today
2010/06/30
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
after 18 months in the proclear multifocal. the distance vision is a bit better, but I am finding they do not have the extreme comfort of the proclear MF. I will wear them a week and then go back and let her know what I think.
Show more
Comment about Air optix
2010/06/16
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I tried cooper vision multi focal and they were ok. Like someone sd I felt like everything was in a shadow. I just got my Air Optix Multifocal today. So far so good. The cooper vision was very comfortable. I don't even realize that these are in my eyes either. Looking forward to better vision and the freedom of no glasses.
Show more
new contact lens wearer
2010/06/15
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I just started wearing contact lens and these are great! Comfortable all day, and I can see without my reading glasses. Distance is a little blurry but not bad - I would rather be able to read clearly instead of see in the distance clearly. Maybe I can get both??
Show more
Problems with Consistency
2010/06/08
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I love the Air Optix multifocals with one exception, but a large one. Several of the lenses in my box of six blur my vision so much that I can't wear them. Others in the box are perfect. I tried swapping out a few pairs with my optician, but have the same problem, either great or unwearable. Anyone else having this problem?
Show more
Blurry Vision Near and Far
2010/06/07
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I've been doing monovision for about 3 years now, and it has been working great for me. I was excited to try these new multifocals since I love the Air Optix line. With these lenses I had great middle vision, but my near and far vision was blurry. Even after adjustments, no luck for me.
Show more
Air Optix Aqua Multifocal Lens
2010/04/24
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
2nd day with the lens. So far I am very impressed. Its like wearing progressive glasses but in a contact. I switched back to glasses a couple of years ago after being a 20 year contact wearer and am so happy to be back in contacts. Just one issue. My right eye is 100% perfect, but the left one feels like there is something wrong with that lens like a tear or piece of dirt. Could this be a bad fitting in my sample pair or has anyone else felt this?
Show more
modified monovision
2010/02/13
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
i wear a proclear multifocal for the nondominant eye only, and a single focal (accuvue) for the dominant eye. while still not perfect, this gives me very good distance vision. i hated the proclear dominant eye multifocal because it seemed like i was looking thru a megafone!
Show more
Really like these so far!
2010/02/12
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Wearing a trial pair now with Medium Add in both eyes and the same distance Rx in both eyes. Tried monovision before and couldn't adjust. Gave up on multifocals after trying 2 different types a year ago and having problems with both due to mild astigmatism. In these, I have good distance, reading, and computer vision - and comfort! My vision is not QUITE as crisp as with progressive glasses, but it's very acceptable for those times when glasses will just NOT work (athletics, vanity, etc!).
Show more
Air Optix Aqua Multifocals
2010/02/11
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
First pair I can really wear all day and the multi focal psrt, while not perfect, are good enough...I recommend these!
Show more
Best lenses yet
2010/02/04
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Luckily I saw these advertised! They are very comfortable and my distance vision is very good now, not perfect but close to it. I can read with no problems. Before I was using B&L multifocals and my eyes were always dry and I couldn't wait to take them out. These I can wear for 10-12 hours with comfort. I highly recommend theses contacts.
Show more
Best Bifocal Yet
2010/01/30
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I have been through the following lenses: Accuvue Bifocals (no good),Proclears (really poor vision),Biomedics (OK, not good for extended wear),Accuvue Oasys (#2 now probably)(distance a little weak)Bausch & Lomb (Best bifocal until now-this is what I previously wore). Air Optix great comfort like Oasys and B&L. Allows the doctor to more precisely adjust for better distance. Best reading and distance I have worn yet--just became my new lens. PS: I hate glasses with a passion.
Show more
Air Optix Multifocal
2010/01/23
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I love that I don't need reading glasses anymore. What a relief!
Show more
First time trying contacts
2010/01/22
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I wish you had added a correct side marking as I cannot tell which way is correct until I put it in wrong! Going to see if other options have markings.
Show more
Love Them!
2010/01/16
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I can actually see to drive with these lenses! Tried mono vision last year and it lasted about two months. Couldn't see to drive and couldn't see the computer screen. Now I can do both! And my eyes don't feel like they have sandpaper in them. Yay!
Show more
Air Optix Multifocals
2010/01/11
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I have a trial pair - just got on Saturday and they have to be the best I have ever tried. So very comfortable and I don't have to compromise my vision is 20/20 from both eyes. Love them.
Show more
so-so
2009/11/14
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
They are better than the other multifocal options, but still only so-so. I had high hopes they would come close to progressive glasses, but they're not quite there yet. I don't know that I'll be purchasing them after my trial pair...
Show more
Air Optix Aqua Multifocal
2009/10/20
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Air Optix Aqua Multifocal: we got our kit last week, one of the 1st Houston-area practices to receive the kit....this is a good product (as were the sphere & toric versions before it). Excellent material for comfort & extended-wear safety, and Ciba really hit a home run with the initial parameter release & kit availability. It gets tedious for us docs when new products are only initially available in limited near-sighted Rx's (no farsighted, and no high minus), but Ciba gave us all 3 add powers as well as plus powers & high minus all at one time. BRAVO, CIBA! This marketing strategy is MUCH APPRECIATED! ....(Source: myeyepod.blogspot.com)
Show more
Air Optix Multifocal
2009/10/20
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Just came from my OD office, saddened by the fact that I will not be able to try these new multifocal lenses until January 2010! I forgot to ask him, and I don't know if he asked his rep about this, but will they be available for astigmatism? I currently wear your Air Optix for astigmatism in a monovision prescription, and while it works well, the multifocal sounds great. Love my Air Optix!
Show more
Greatest Contact
2009/10/09
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I have worn contacts for over twenty years and these are the best I have ever had. They are the first that actually do not feel like you are wearing contacts at the end of the day. I told my doctor they were the greatest multifocal that I had ever had also! I didn't have to give up anything for close up or distant. Usally the answer is we can't get it perfect, we might have to give a little here to get your distance good. Not at all the case with these!!!!!!
Show more
The latest bifocal contact lens,
2009/08/20
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Air Optix multifocals seem to be working pretty well for most people. Love technology!
Show more
I can see, I can see
2009/08/09
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
...Ill just say that, after trying several pairs, I went with Ciba Visions Air Optix Aqua Multifocals. Theyre just out on the US market, though theyve been available in Europe for awhile. (Why is it that Europe gets all the cool stuff first?) And I can testify that they are extraordinary the best of all the brands I tried on both close-up and distance vision...
Show more