air optix aqua

What do you think about Air Optix Aqua? What's your experience? What's good - what's bad? Read what others have to say and tell us what you like or dislike about Air Optix Aqua!

4.3/5 from 32 ratings.
  • Vision
  • Comfort
  • Handling
  • Value
these lenses are great
2018/11/09
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
love my air optix! great great great !! THE most comfortable lens I found after trying a whole bunch of other lenses. and great site btw! ;-)
Show more
Bad reaction
2018/10/25
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Had a bad reaction after 3 hours. I had started with a new set, hoping it was just a lemon and a one-time fluke. But the same happened again. This is unusual as I've been wearing those for >1 year. Never had any problems. Must be my eyes.
Show more
Air optics Aqua ITCHY EYES
2018/09/06
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Can’t wear even a new pair for more than 6 hours the first day. The second day eyes are crusty and itching so bad I have to remove them within an hour of putting them on. I’ve tested 3 pairs and all with the same results. Can’t wear them anymore.
Lot 10384591
Lot 10220493
Show more
7-10 days
2018/08/07
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
From my experience, when you try the air optix aqua for the first time, you need to wait between 7 and 10 days to be comfortable with, it's as if your eyes need to have a 'reaction' and moreover if you wore in the past some other hydrogel lenses. If you still have a problem, try changing the cleaning product. I like the peroxide based ones, had good results with aosept plus.
Show more
Not so good
2018/08/05
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
These are not for me. About half the contacts I pull out of the box doesn't work. I can wear them for a couple of hours and then start having problems with one of them. I can take that contact and put it in my other eye, and I will have the same problem in that eye. Its like the contact sticks to my upper eye lid, and when I blink it causes irritation to the point that I have to take them out. I can use rewetting drops all day and still have problems. Ouch.
Show more
Bad batch?
2018/03/06
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Like a lot of reviews I've read from 2017 to now, I've been wearing the Air Optix Aqua for years, but the last batch (12 month supply) I got in June 2017 is like wearing sandpaper in my eyes. I can't have them in for more than a couple hours, and most of the time it is within minutes that my eye is completely irritated and the contact just wants to jump out. The only relief is taking them out and wearing my glasses. I found one last contact left from my old batch in 2016, put it in my eye, and voila, my eye feels amazing with my OLD CONTACT IN!!!
There is something wrong with the 2017 batch. I've read that there is a recall on certain batches of the Air Optix, these need to be added: 846566555307 (LOT 10344143), 846566555321 (LOT 10329261).
Hate that I have to spend more money now getting another batch, or switching brands completely.
Show more
Great lenses
2018/02/01
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Wearing them for over 5 years. Never had any issues and switched back after trying some alternatives.
Show more
Happy lens wearer
2014/07/22
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
...for over 4 years now. Nevertheless had any problems. Thanks
Show more
So far I'm happy.
2013/03/30
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Very good quality. Perfect for my sensitive eyes.
Show more
What's good for the goose,...
2013/02/12
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
...isn't necessarily good for the gander. Not every contact/person is the same.

Diameter - contact too big/small
Curvature - suction type effect that you can feel in your eye.
Material - allergies.
Water content, breathability - eye/environment reactions.

We all argue that our contacts are better than the other. It's because we are all experiencing our own comfort that the other can't understand.

Bottom line: different eyes, different contacts needed.
Show more
Unfortunately not for me
2013/02/12
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I was hoping I could wear these all day without taking them out at all. For some reason they itch and burn. They just aren't as comfortable as the Oasys. I'm switching back.
Show more
Air Optix Are Great, but..
2013/02/02
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
They are really good. I experience a much more clear and crispy vision than with Acuvue Oasis and Avaira. I dont know which kind of multipurpose solution is "popular" in your contries, but here in Brazil, "Renu Plus - Fresh Lens Comfort", "Opti-Free - Replenish" and "Opti-Free Express" are the most used. BUT, when i use Renu Plus or Opti-free Replenish with these extended wear contact lenses my eyes get dry, blur and red, especially the left eye. So, I'm only using Opti-free EXPRESS and had no problem anymore."
Show more
Great so far
2013/02/02
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Started to use them about 6 weeks ago - no problems so far, they are very comfortable, crisp vision.
Show more
air optix contacts
2013/01/31
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I tried another brand and just couldnt take the dryness and blurryness but the air optic seem so much better thanks to a very patient doctor that is working with me.
Show more
These are fantastic lenses
2012/11/24
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Great lenses. Have tried many other lenses before and finally found the right ones.
Show more
love em
2012/08/20
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I have been wearing contacts for 30 years and had many many types. My prescription is very strong for nearsightedness (-10.0). I tried trial pairs of quite a few (Acuvue Oasys, etc) but could not tolerate them. I wore Preference brand for many years and could tolerate them, but I had to take them out and rewet them about every hour. I got Air Optix 2 months ago and they are so much better. My vision is clearer (same RX), and I hardly ever have to take them out to rewet them. So glad!
Show more
air optix contact's
2012/03/22
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
great brand. I got not find a pair of contacts that I could see out of and was told that i would never be able to have both close and far vision but air optix and a good doctor gave me a great crisp vision. I have struggled with this problem for 2 years and now, after searching for a great docter and a great lense he has provided me with the sight I thought I would never have again.
Show more
Absolutely amazing lenses
2011/11/03
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I absolutely love these lenses. I have been wearing contacts for over 10 years now and these are the best ones by far. I love how you can leave them in and forget about them for days. I have had my night and day ones in now for almost 13 days and they still feel like the day i put them in. I have to say next to having laser eye surgery these contacts are the next best thing. I will never go back to the old contacts i used before.
Show more
WOW
2011/03/24
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
These are by far the best contacts I have ever worn. My eye doctor gave me a trial pair about a month ago and I loved them so much I switched from my old brand with no hesitation. I have have been wearing various contacts now for about 8 years. I can wear these all day, and take a nap in them, and they still don't dry out. I would recommend these to anyone that wants a great pair of contacts.
Show more
Great lenses
2011/02/25
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I give them a thumbs up! Have been wearing Pure Vision previously. Air Optix are very comfortable and I can see up close and far away just as clearly as with Pure Vision and with greater comfort.
Show more
The old ones were so much better
2010/12/09
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I wore the Night & Day version of this lens for years and they were awesome. My eye doctor switched me to Air Optix late this summer, and I just can't wear them. The lenses get filmy, require rewetting multiple times a day, and if I wear them more than 2 days in a row my eyes become quite irritated. I'm giving up and switching over to Accuvue lenses. Such a shame. If Ciba Vision ever brings back the Night & Day version, they will win me back as a customer.
Show more
Very comfortable
2010/11/11
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
long days are no problem. very soft and smooth. can't live w/o them.
Show more
I Like Them
2010/11/03
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I've tried so many different brands that were not comfortable, I would have a headache after wearing them for just an hour - I gave these a shot and they are great. Very comfortable, I'm so happy I found contacts that I can use.
Show more
Best lenses ever
2010/10/29
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
love-em... Surprised about some of the comments here....switched too, no issues. Much better vision than before.
Show more
Wonderful
2010/09/28
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
They're easy to handle, comfortable, and extremely affordable. But the little downside is that my reading vision is somewhat affected, especially if the text is small. But overall, an excellect product!
Show more
Not as good as the old ones
2010/09/18
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I have been a contact user for over 20 years and have never had a problem until now. I have used this brand for over a year and just ordered a new supply. I put them in and starting having problem with blurry vision and had to take them out a clean them. I had one old contact and placed it in my left eye and it was fine while the right eye, with the new contact, was bad. I am not one that writes reviews and understand they may work for some people but for me the new version is very bad.
Show more
Air Optix Aqua vs Oasys
2010/08/20
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I have ordered both brands and find them both to be satisfactory. I wear my contacts from 7AM until midnight most days, however, and find that the Air Optix Aqua seems to be easier on my eyes later on in the day (my vision seems to remain the same while my Oasys lens seem to cause my vision to deteriorate somewhat.)
Show more
Try Air Optix.
2010/03/31
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I swear by them! They are breathable & they don't hurt my eyes at the end of the day. OK, I sound like an Ad.
Show more
Air Optix Aquas are great
2010/02/28
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
When Air Optix Aqua first came out I was surprised to see how contact lens technology had advanced... I have been wearing lenses for almost 6 years and - with this new lens - not once had eye irritations. My optician described them for extended wear which means I can keep them in for as long as I want - as long as I take them out before sleeping. She also said these are very high quality lenses. So far, I never had problems with these contacts.
Show more
I cannot live without contacts.
2010/02/28
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Im near-sighted though, so I dont think my advice counts for much if anything. I started out wearing Acuvues for a long time, but fairly recently switched to O2 Optix and I like them loads better. I needed them though because I wear my contacts CONSTANTLY and I was having problems with my eyes not getting enough oxygen. Theyre hard at first (I had all these elaborate rituals and special towels to dry my hands with to minimize dust). Now theyre second nature and so fast and easy.
Show more
Review by professional
2010/02/14
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
A good friend and I attended the Big Ten Tournament at Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis last night to watch Indiana University play against Penn State. He was wearing contact lenses for the first time in about 15 years. This guy was one of those people who tried contact lenses years early on, had a bad experience and decided to give them up due to dry eyes, discomfort, etc, the usual reasons for not wearing contact lenses. We were talking a while back and I explained to him the many improvements that have come about in contact lenses over the years....
After our conversation, he decided to go to our Doctor Tavel office on the south side of Indianapolis for a free trial set of lenses. As it turns out, he decided to try a new lens from CIBA Vision, the Air Optix Aqua. This lens is a 30 day wear contact lens and is priced affordably for those patients looking for true vision value. He was absolutely blown away at how much better these contacts felt compared to his last experience. Not only that, but his vision is great with this new product...
(Source: blog.drtavel.com/blog/family-eyecare-fashion-eyewear)
Show more
My optician changed my contacts...
2010/02/02
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
...about a year ago to air optix ones. They are a bit thicker by touch (not by prescription), so they are easy to get out - and they let a lot more air in, thereby stopping the dry eye situation. I have a similar problem to you-been wearing contacts for some 20 odd years now and my eyes do dry out more. However since switching to these newer lenses (they contain silicon), they are much more comfortable and my eyes are definitely better. The contacts are monthly disposible though so it does entail using the old soaking solution. I pay 21 a month. I guess its worth it??!! I have recently had to have new glasses however and this again is a whole different ball game. Good to give your eyes a rest sometimes. Good luck.
Show more