Air Optix for Astigmatism

What do you think about Air Optix for Astigmatism? What do other people say about Air Optix for Astigmatism? What's good - what's bad? Read what others have to say and tell us what you like or dislike about these lenses.

4.1/5 from 28 ratings.
  • Vision
  • Comfort
  • Handling
  • Value
A home-run after almost giving up the search
2020/10/13
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
I went through probably 10 different trials of varying brands before I wound up with these.I was told I have a no-mans land version of prescription which complicates things. These were a last ditch effort for both me, and my eye doctor, and I had already decided if they didn’t work then I was done and would go back to glasses. I had been through biofinity (regular and toric), acuvue (regular and toric), and at least a few others as well as trying one toric and one non-toric in my better eye (I don’t recommend trying that). All of them gave me vision issues, and while I feel like my vision isn’t crystal clear with these, I’ve chalked that up to the fact that they’re toric contacts and I’ll always somewhat have that issue. They are extremely comfortable though, and I’ve almost gone to sleep in them a couple of times, which I am taking as a win. They definitely saved me from the brink of a very troublesome contact search.
Show more
Would recommend.
2020/09/22
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Used them for 1 year, for about 12 hours almost everyday, and despite the extreme durations, my eyes never felt too dry. Extremely comfortable. Hard to tear as well, it never happened to me. I’m currently using another brand since I likely received a faulty box, my doctor couldn’t be sure of it so he suggested I try another brand. I was very happy with Air Optix toric lenses. The vision is good enough, never had any major problems with it. It should be noted that lenses for astigmatism pretty much never completely fix your vision, though this isn’t something very noticeable. They don’t work the same way as contact lenses, toric lenses “moving around whenever you blink” is normal. Although I must say I never had problems with that, I didn’t notice it at all. It shouldn’t be expected to feel the same as a contact lens.
Summing it up, I would recommend it to anyone. It’s certainly thicker than the brand I currently use, but that didn’t give me any discomfort.
Show more
Something Changed After Wearing for Years
2020/09/09
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
I have worn Air Optix for Astigmatism for years and despite different optometrists giving me samples of new brands, I kept going back to these for their comfort and visibility. Something changed when I purchased again in 2019. I received a bad box but it took months of frustration and 2 eye exams within 8 mos ($$$) to figure out that
(1) I had a defective box that were blurry and felt like had a tear in them (I kept throwing them away, thinking I had torn them or mixed up eyes) and finally just wore my glasses for months. My eye doctor finally thought to give me a sample of the same contacts and they seemed to work. That's how we knew I had a defective box;
(2) after purchasing a new box I realized something was still different with these contacts and they now give me blurry, goopy eyes by the end of the day. Very disappointing because I bought multiple boxes.
I have gone back to just wearing glasses because they are so annoying. With a bit of googling, I have found that this is a common complaint with their new "smartshield technology".
Show more
Terrible fit, drying, keeps moving with every blink
2019/10/16
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
I was using Biofinity Toric up until my last exam then my eye doctor switched me to these AirOptix for astigmatism. I tried them on after doing the routine rinse out the blister pack. It felt like I stabbed myself in the eye because they were so hard coming out of the package. I had to soak them for 20-30 minutes in new solution for them to even soften up a little bit. When I finally got them in my eye they were so drying it's like they literally zapped all the moisture from my eyes. It has been nothing but frustration wearing these contacts. With every blink, my vision goes out of focus and you're supposed to blink a couple of times and the positioning should correct themselves but no they don't. I can't even wear them while driving at night because they are constantly moving and blurring my vision. They are truly horrible and I will be going back to my previous brand. I don't care what kind of kickback my OD gets for pushing these, they aren't worth it.
Show more
I keep going back to Air Optics. Pretty much the best for me
2019/07/25
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Everyone is different, but for me these are the best lenses. Shopped about a bit and tried different brands, some were rubbish (personally found dailies terrible - 30 days of crappy eyesight, not fun!)) and some were very good but always found myself better with Air Optics. Great fit, no swimming around, very robust. Bang on job fellas
Show more
They work as promised
2018/09/04
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
I use them daily. Same experience on day 1 and day 30. When I wear them for more than 16 hours, I can feel them. My eyes get itchy and dry. Wetting drops help.
Show more
Blurry and red eyes
2018/08/28
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
I can't stand these eye pancakes. Within hours, I noticed discomfort and redness. Mornings my eyes were met with goop, blurry vision and very red eyes. I have worn contacts for 24 years, but these don't work. Off to another trial.
Show more
Too bad
2018/08/08
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
I've been wearing contact for upwards of 10 years... never had a problem with my lenses, never had an eye infection. My doctor switched me to this brand about a month ago and since then I have had 2 pink eye... no idea what's going on but these contacts are not only costing me money in doctor's bills, but also driving me crazy! Really too bad they don't work for me.
Show more
Please improve the orientation mark
2018/07/24
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Very comfortable. I wish it was a bit easier to put them in. The marker line which is important for toric lenses is barely visible. Would like to see some other solution, so the handling gets easier. It really annoys me every morning. Other than that great lenses.
Show more
Love them
2018/06/19
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
This is my second day of wearing them, I love them. Wish I would have started wearing them 4 years ago, when my eyes were going bad. Better then glasses!!!
Show more
GREAT
2018/06/15
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
i got glasses when i was in seventh grade thats when i started wearing contacts too never had a problem with them. they are GREAT
Show more
Nope
2016/05/15
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
They seemed to work fine for a few months but then started making my eye hurt. By 3:00pm I could not wait to get them out. I would never recommend.
Show more
WAY better than Acuvue!
2013/10/03
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
I wore Acuvue Oasys torics for the last year and had nothing but problems. They always felt flimsy, gritty, and they hurt my eyes (dry climate). I spent soo much money on contacts last year because I was constantly throwing them out! My DR switched me to Air Optix Torics in August and I LOVE them! They are not as flimsy and literally feel like nothing in my eyes. I am still using the trial pair in October and I am thrilled that I will no longer spend a fortune on contacts!
Show more
Air optix are great
2013/04/30
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
I just received my trial pair of air optix aqua yesterday. I only got to wear them for 8 hours yesterday but today I wore them for 16 hours. I love them. I knew that I was going to love them the minute I put them in. I have the monovision lenses and also one is for astigmatism. I can't even feel the one for astigmatism. The other brand I used I could feel move every time I moved my eyes or blinked. I will not switch back to the other brand.
Show more
Best comfort, best vision
2011/05/23
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
I tried PureVision and found them comfortable but my vision was not as sharp as I was hoping. Then I tried Oasys and the vision was nice and sharp, but they were slightly irritating. Now I've been wearing Air Optix for astigmatism for two days and my vision is ultra-sharp, and I can't tell that I'm wearing them. Ciba Vision, you win! I took my lenses out last night and was a bit startled at how bad my vision really is. So nice to see clearly.
Show more
Tinted blue?
2011/03/21
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
I am wondering if these contacts are tinted blue.. is there a round cicle of blue in the middle. I previously used Focus Toric lens, and they were tinted. I liked them because they made my eyes slightly bluer. Thanks!
Show more
Fabulous
2011/01/21
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Love love love love air optix! i've been wearing contacts for 17 years, and believe me i've tried every brand, air optix feels fabulous! no floating when blinking eyes, no redness, no squinting, no nothing :))
Show more
First time wearer
2010/12/03
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
First I'm still learning how to put contacts in but I seem to have had a much easier time with these compared to the B&L PureVision lenses I had before. I had a sample pair (wasn't my exact RX) that had perfect vision until it wanted to move and close up vision became blurry. I also blink alot from Tourette's Syndrome. My doc suggested I order a trial pair of the air optics because it featured something called ASD instead of prism ballest or something like that I'm not sure. If anyone knows what ASD is please let me know. He also said these would move oxygen to my eye better and keep it moist. Well my order came in today and the first two hours have been great. Clear up close vision and great distance vision. Also the lens hasn't moved around at all yet either. If that isn't great enough these for me were easier to insert than the other contacts were. Also after the first 15 minutes in I could no longer feel them in my eye and they are staying moist while using the computer for the bulk of this time. These lenses are just amazing and I'm just praying this is going to continue for the long term. I would be very upset if things went downhill but I have such a good feeling about these. Now many people love B&L purevision and I'm sure they are also great lenses but they aren't for me I guess. So for anyone trying different lenses and are new to this you need to try different brands until you find one that works for you. I'm starting to believe that all these contacts are great but the fit and feel is very personal and varies with everyone. I really almost gave up honestly thinking another brand wouldn't be any different but boy was I wrong.
Show more
air optix for astigmatism
2010/10/01
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
I have worn contacts for 20 years - i have difficult time getting these in, they last a few hours and my eyes hurt all day when I take them out.
Show more
Almost gave up on contacts
2010/07/23
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
And I was so pleased with the fit and feel of these lenses! No floating with every blink. The correction is better than I've ever had before with a contact lense. I live in a dry climate, and needed to switch solutions (I was using Opti-Free Replenish, and now use Clear Care) so that my eyes wouldn't feel dry and gritty. I have to use Clear Care hydrogen peroxide a few times a week, and can use Opti-Free the rest of the week. Anyway, I love the lenses. They are great!
Show more
Uncomfortable
2010/06/24
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
They make my eyes hurt. I have been wearing contacts for 10 years and have worn these the last year, and they are terrible! They do not last the entire month and they make my eyes hurt even after I have taken them out! They also produce a discharge. I can only wear for about 6 hours a day, and even a brand new pair hurts my eyes.
Show more
Got my trial pair...
2009/07/21
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
... of Air Optix for Astigmatism on today, so far, so good. Much more comfortable contacts than my Acuvue Advance ones
Show more
love, love, love...
2009/07/16
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
And, for anyone who gives a damn, I love, love, love my new contacts. Air Optix for astigmatism. They make Acuvue feel like sandpaper.
Show more
Review of Air Optix for Astigmatism
2009/05/04
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Great is the only thing to say. I wore contacts years ago, the kind you took out nightly. I never had any problem. So when my doctor told me I could wear my Ciba (astigmatism) lenes up to one week straight, I was weary but excited. I had every reason to be excited. I have them for over a month now and not a single problem. Perfect fit (yeah, doctor) and perfect vision (yeah Ciba). And NO irratation whatsoever. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Show more
love my new contacts...
2009/04/30
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
highly recommend air optix astigmatism contacts. Day 1 was a success.
Show more
After trying Air Optix...
2009/04/17
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
After trying Air Optix and Acuvue Advance (both for astigmatism), I like the Air Optix better. I do plan to try Acuvue Oasys before deciding.
Show more
Air Optix Astigmatism
2009/04/06
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
BIG upgrade over Biomedics Torics. I finally understand when people say, It feels like nothing!
Show more