Avaira

CooperVision has discontinued this lens. Check out its replacement: Avaira Vitality

What do you think about CooperVision Avaira? What's your experience? What's good - what's bad? If you have tried or if you are currently using Avaira, we would love to hear what you have to say about these lesnes.

4.6/5 from 13 ratings.
  • Vision
  • Comfort
  • Handling
  • Value
Don't like them
2017/08/06
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I don't like them the Dr said my eyes was dry and prescribed me these. When I put them in I can't get them out for 3 days. And the past 3 months I been wearing my glasses bc they irritated my eye so bad that it is sensitive to the touch
Show more
Love!
2015/10/10
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Been wearing Acuvue Oaysis astigmatism for almost 10 years, and I asked my doctor for a different brand, since they now force you to buy a six month supply per eye at a time, and they only let you have the prescription for their lenses for a year... there also was a bit of fuzziness that made it inferior to glasses clarity and bad for driving at night as it distorted everything. Two weeks ago, I got these prescribed, and I'll never go back!!! Much more comfortable, two year prescription, and with these, the power hasn't changed, but my vision has gotten to 20/15 and is not fuzzy at all like I had come to be used to with Oasys.
Show more
Thank you Avaira
2014/07/16
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Thanks to Avaira I can see up close again! I have worn Acuvue Oasys for many years with no problems, however recently everything within a few feet has become blurry. The Optometrist stated that the ONLY course of action was to wear reading glasses or get Acuvue Oasys for Presbyopia.
Fortunately, I FOUND THE POSTS ON THIS WEBSITE!!!! THANKS!!!! :) :)
Many people are having blurring issues with Acuvue Oasys. I mentioned this to my Optometrist and he had never heard of this and he didn't believe it . . . "you can't believe everything you read on the Internet."
After some discussion, he decided to humor me with a trial pair of Avaira. I put them in and it was like night and day. Everything was crystal clear up close and far away! The optometrist retested me with them in and was completely shocked! I am now using the Avairas and have perfect vision.
Thanks to the posts and the site and for getting me to switch to Avaira contacts!!!
Show more
Switched from glasses
2013/03/30
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
After wearing glasses for many years I finally gave contact lenses a shot. Now I wish I had tried contacts earlier. Avaira work great for me.
Show more
Worn them for 3 yrs. Avaira PLEASE make powers >-12.00!!
2011/06/05
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I've been wearing Avaira lenses (14.2mm diameter, 8.5mm base curve, -12.0 power) for almost 3 years. I like them a lot. Due to my odd-shaped eyes and poor vision, I have tested around 10 different lenses (including ProClear, Precision UV, SpecialEyes, and Acuvue) and Avaira is my favorite. My eyes do get dry in them from time to time, but I just carry eye drops on me and deal with it because my options are slim.
Problem is, I now need a -13.25 in my left eye and a -13 in my right, and Avaira doesn't come in powers higher than -12.00. (The downloadable PDF of specs on Coopervision's website says Avaira goes to -20 but I've never seen them go past -12.00 in online stores which is very confusing.)
Avaira: I will stand by you if you make -13s!!! Otherwise, I must reluctantly say goodbye.
Show more
AVAIRA CONTACT LENSES
2010/11/13
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Llevo una semana de uso y son grandiosos. Los recomiendo al 100%. They're great!
Show more
Toric version???
2010/09/19
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I read that Coopervision will be releasing a toric version. Any idea as to when that will be?
Show more
Best lenses I ever had
2010/09/05
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Can't wait to see a toric version being available so my husband can use them too.
Show more
Avaira lenses are great.
2010/08/31
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Started using these lenses about one year ago. After going through several trials - Oasys, Air Optic, PureVision - these are the ones that work best for me.
Thanks CooperVision!
Show more
Gave up due to eye pain
2010/07/22
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I've been wearing Avaira lens for the last 6 months, was originally impressed in the fit comfort over my older Acuvue 2, but only recently realized my new found daily afternoon eye pain was the result of wearing these lenses. It felt like somebody was squeezing my eyeballs it hurt so bad, that I mistakenly thought was my sinuses acting up. I went back to my old Acuvue 2's, and no more eye pain. What a relief! Plus the Acuvue 2's are sharper
Show more
My Review of Avaira
2009/10/03
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I switched from Acuvue to Oasys and loved the big improvement with Oasys in less dry eyes. However, after wearing the Oasys for a year, I realized I was having a couple of major problems with them. First, I was constantly having blurry vision and I could no longer read things up-close. I thought that my nearsightedness was impaired due to my age (40+). Just recently I told my problems to my Doctor and he recommended Avaira since I was told they wouldn't dry my eyes out either like the Oasys. They are definitely just as comfortable if not more, but most importantly, I have absolutely no problem with blurry vision with the Avaira. My nearsightedness is also perfect again. I've read many many postings on the Internet with people having problems with the Oasys and blurred vision so it seems like a pretty common problem. I would give Avaira a 10 out 10 rating so far (review after wearing them for 1 week).
Show more
Avaira is a winner
2009/10/01
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
I've been pleased with the Avaira so far. The vision is excellent (certainly as good as the Accuvue Oasys), they are quite comfortable for 14-16 hour wearing periods, and (unlike the Oasys) don't seem to rip, tear, crack, warp, or split before they are due to be replaced. I've been very disappointed with the way the Oasys handles - it has proven not to be a very dependable lens. So far no problems with the Avaira in this respect.
Show more
Started my trial of the Avaira
2009/08/23
Vision
Comfort
Handling
Value
Review
Ive started my trial of the CooperVision Avaira 2 week silicone hydrogel disposable contact lens. I havent worn them during a work day yet, so they havent been exposed to my rigorous staring-at-the-computer-screen-all-day test. However, they felt great during the one weekend day Ive tried them so far.
Unfortunately, they arent noticeably more comfortable than the Acuvue Advance, so it really comes down to price. The Acuvue Advance are $16 per box at lens.com, while the CooperVision Avaira are $19 per box on lens.com.
Now, I know CooperVision probably thinks their primary competition is the Acuvue Oasys, so the Avaira is a cheaper alternative to the Oasys, but they should probably take note of the fact that a lot of people actually prefer the Acuvue Advance over the Acuvue Oasys, even without taking price into consideration. In fact, the Oasys is cheaper than the Advance right now because of the $100 Oasys rebate for first time wearers, but I would still choose the Advance over the Oasys.
So CooperVision, if you want me to buy your Avaira lens, you have to make it price-competitive with the Acuvue Advance otherwise, there is no way I (or many other Advance wearers) will consider your lens.
Show more